European Ryder Cup team a step closer to being finalised


The players automatically selected for the European Ryder Cup team were confirmed today. Earning their spots from the European or World points lists are:

Rory McIlroy, Danny Willett, Henrik Stenson, Chris Wood, Sergio Garcia, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Justin Rose, Andy Sullivan and Matt Fitzpatrick.

European Ryder Cup Captain will announce his three wildcard selections in a week’s time on 30 August. With five rookies automatically selected he may choose to go for more experienced players such as Martin Kaymer and Lee Westwood. Others in the frame are Graeme McDowell, Luke Donald, Russell Knox (who has dual US and British citizenship, a unique proposition), Thomas Pieters and Andrew Johnstone.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.